All content exported on Kapwing is "Unlisted" by default, but by upgrading to the Pro Plan, users can set their content to "Private". When a project is set to "Private", it will only be viewable by the creator. Links shared will lead to a 404 page, and embedded videos will not play.
I've upgraded, but how do I set my content to "Private?"
You can set your video to private on the download page by clicking "Make video private" or from within your folder by clicking the drop down menu under your project (⋮) and selecting "Make private".
You can also have all of your new projects be set to private by default. To do this, you just have to go to your Account settings by clicking your profile picture, then find the "privacy" section and toggle the option from "off" to "on"
This will set all of your new projects to private. If you have older projects in your folder, you will have to manually set them to private.
What happens to my project when I set them to Private?
When you set your projects to private, link sharing and embedding will not work. If you share your URL with others, opening a link to a private video will result in a 404 error page.
If you embed a private video onto a website or blog, you will get an error message stating that the video is unable to be embedded.
The only people who will have access to your private projects is anyone else that is in that shared workspace (or folder, from when sharing folders was still possible).
If I downgrade, what happens to my private content?
When you downgrade or unsubscribe from the Pro Plan, you will no longer have access to premium features. Since being able to set your content to private is a premium feature, once you downgrade, your content will become "Unlisted" and all videos older than 30 days will be permanently deleted from our database.